• Walden students at GAVRT
  • Esther as astronaut
  • Walden group at Mojave
  • Walden students at Goldstone
  • Walden students at JPL
  • Walden students in the SOPHIA cockpit
  • Walden students touring JPL
  • Walden students tour IPP

Aerospace Education Foundation MISSION

The Utah Aerospace Education Foundation (UAEF), a 501c3 and Utah registered charity, operates with a mission of educating the public on national defense, aerospace and Air Force issues while advocating for aerospace and STEM education.  This mission is in line with the Utah Air Force Association (UAFA) and supports each UAFA Chapter Aerospace Education Vice President (AEVP).  UAEF assists education programs; including stipends for Utah ROTC, junior AFROTC and Civil Air Patrol (CAP) education programs and scholarships for deserving ROTC and junior AFROTC cadets.  UAEF aides Utah STEM events with recognition awards and event hosting, including the Utah Region Science Olympiad, Ritchey Science Fairs, Teacher Workshops and Rube Goldberg Competitions.  The UAEF awards grants to teachers and schools for specific STEM projects such as field trip transportation, summer programs, and classroom materials . With each Chapter AEVP, the UAEF conducts the state Teacher of the Year Program to recognize Chapter and State outstanding teachers.


Aerospace Education Foundation, Inc

P.O. Box 502, Clearfield, UT 84089
Email: utahaef@gmail.com


Pitsenbarger Award Survey

Please download and fill out the survey below:

Word Format Pitserbarger Award Survey
then email the responses to afa.chapter.235@gmail.com or use the email link below.

Response Return Email

Thank you for your input and time.


AEF Educator Grant

Grants are first come first served basis and generally limited to $500 or less.  

Grants should focus on STEM/aerospace events and/or materials.

Email questions to utahaef@gmail.com

Please email completed grant request to: utahaef@gmail.com

"Thank you for the grant for our Deep Space expedition. We had 17 students and two teachers go, and it was extremely successful. We visited many STEM and aerospace facilities in Utah, Nevada, and Califrnia including the deep space network at Goldstone, JPL, and SOFIA."
David Black, Recent AEF Educator Grant Recipient 


Teacher of the Year

The Utah Aerospace Education Foundation (AEF) Teacher of the Year (TOY) program mission is to recognize educators focused on STEM/aerospace studies. 
The TOY awards are categorized into Chapter TOY and State TOY; each of the three Utah Air Force Education chapters select a primary and a secondary educator and the Utah AEF selects the State TOY.  Further the Utah AEF then nominates a TOY for the Air Force Association Teacher of the Year award.
Chapter TOY winners receive certificates and $350 total.
State TOY winner receives certificate, jacket and $750 total.
The TOY winners are recognized at the Focus on Defense Symposium luncheon.
Applications/packages are due 23 April 2019
Please email complete application form to: utahaef@gmail.com
E-mail questions to utahaef@gmail.com or contact a Utah AEF Board member.



SPONSORS - Focus On Defense and Aerospace Education Foundation

Gold Level Sponsor

  • The Boeing Company
  • Lockheed Martin Corporation
  • America First Credit Union

Silver Level Sponsor

  • Utah Governor's Office of Economic Development

General Sponsors

  • Elbit Systems - US
  • BAE Systems
  • Northrop Grumman Innovation Systems
  • Honeywell
  • Young Engineering
  • General Dynamics - Mission Systems
  • Haight Bey
  • Secturion
  • LSI Inc
  • Booz-Allen-Hamilton
  • MOOG
  • Ed Kenley Ford - Layton
  • Wasatch Distributing
  • Ogden Eccles Conference Center


  • STEM Action Center of Utah
  • Hill Air Force Base STEM Program
  • Weber State University Center for Technology Outreach


You and Amazon Support the Utah Aerospace Education Foundation

Support the Utah Aerospace Education Foundation the easy way through your Amazon purchases, we receive a donation based on your purchase. 

Just go to 'smile.amazon.com' and designate "UTAH AEROSPACE EDUCATION FOUNDATION" to receive the donation.  Then use 'smile.amazon.com' when you purchase with Amazon.  


Board Members

Sonje Beal
Ch. 237
Scott Nowlin
Aerospace Education Chapter VP
Ch. 235
Jim Aadland
​Utah AFA State Vice-President
Ch. 235
Fran Bradshaw
AFA State Presidient
Ch. 237
Mark Mathias
Ch. 236
 Utah Civil Air Patrol Rep
Donald "Mickey" McPartland
Ch. 237
​Industry Rep
Lacy Bizios
Ch. 237
Industry Rep 
Fran Bradshaw
Ch. 237
Director STARBASE Hill: NUAMES Board; Educational Consultant